Copyright: AAF

Save the date: Gala 2017 – Hören

Wiener Schule der Medizin
Epochal – Sozial – Genial

Datum
Montag, 13. November 2017
ab 19:00 Uhr

Ort
Van Swieten Saal, Medizinische Universität Wien

Organisation
Vienna OMI gemeinsam mit dem Josephinum & dem Wiener Wissenschafts- und Technologiefonds

Information

Anna Maria Nics
Verein der Freunde der AAF
01/533 8658 17
wienmedizin@meduniwien.ac.at
www.wienmedizin.at

Einweihung der Josephinischen Militärakademie der Chirurgie© Josephinum, Ethics, Collections, and History of Medicine, MedUni Vienna

Die Gala zur Förderung der Wiener Schule der Medizin war im letzten Jahr ein großer Erfolg! Mit dem Reinerlös von 75.000 EUR werden wichtige Forschungsinitiativen an der Medizinischen Universität Wien unterstützt und 5 ÄrztInnen aus Zentral- und Osteuropa zu Forschungsaufenthalten nach Wien eingeladen. Wir danken allen Förderern und Sponsoren, die diesen Erfolg ermöglicht haben.

Die diesjährige Gala zur Förderung der Wiener Schule der Medizin findet am 13. November 2017 statt und wird sich dem Thema Hören widmen. Es waren Wiener Mediziner, Adam Politzer und Josef Gruber, die 1873 die weltweit erste „otiatrische“ Klinik am Wiener AKH eröffnet haben. Erfindungen dieser Zeit haben die moderne HNO maßgeblich mitgestaltet und werden auch heute noch von OhrenärztInnen routinemäßig angewendet. Dies gilt vor allem für die Otoskopie durch den Ohrentrichter Ignaz Grubers, der von Sir William, Oscar Wildes Vater, begeistert übernommen wurde, Franz Polanskys Beurteilung der Knochenleitung, oder die allen bekannte Luftdusche des Mittelohres nach Politzer. Mit der Entwicklung der Cochlear-Implantate ist Ingeborg und Erwin Hochmair in den 1960er Jahren ein weiterer Meilenstein in der modernen HNO gelungen. Rund eine Million Menschen weltweit profitieren heute von dieser Erfindung.

Die Wiener Schule der Medizin blickt nicht nur auf eine lange Geschichte und Tradition zurück, auch die gegenwärtige Gesundheitsversorgung und medizinische Forschungslandschaft Wiens kann sich sehen und feiern lassen. Das Vienna Open Medical Institute (Vienna OMI), das Josephinum und der Wiener Wissenschafts- und Technologiefonds haben dies zum Anlass genommen und die jährliche Gala zur Förderung der Wiener Schule der Medizin ins Leben gerufen. Der Reinerlös der Gala-Veranstaltung wird dem Josephinum, dem Vienna OMI sowie der Medizinischen Universität Wien zu Gute kommen.

Save the Date als PDF zum Download (469KB):Gala zur Förderung der Wiener Schule der Medizin – Save the Date

Copyright: AAF

Save the date: Gala 2017 – Hearing

Vienna School of Medicine
Epochal – Social – Genial

Date
Monday, November 13, 2017
From 7 pm

Place
Van Swieten Hall, Medical University of Vienna

Organization
Vienna OMI together with the Josephinum & the Vienna Science and Technology Fund

Information

Anna Maria Nics
Association of Friends of the AAF
01/533 8658 17
wienmedizin@meduniwien.ac.at
www.wienmedizin.at

Einweihung der Josephinischen Militärakademie der Chirurgie© Josephinum, Ethics, Collections, and History of Medicine, MedUni Vienna

Last years gala for the promotion of the Viennese School of Medicine has been a great success! The 75,000 EUR funding will support important research initiatives at the Medical University and enables the Vienna Open Medical Institute to invite five doctors from Central and Eastern Europe for Research stays in Vienna. We would like to thank all the sponsors and sponsors who have made this success possible.

This year’s gala for the promotion of the Viennese School of Medicine will take place on 13th November 2017 and will devote itself to the topic of hearing. The Viennese physicians Adam Politzer and Josef Gruber opened the world ‘s first “otiatric” clinic at the Viennese AKH in 1873. Inventions of this time have played a major role in shaping the modern ENT and are still routinely used by ophthalmologists today. The otoscopy by Ignaz Grubers, who was enthusiastically taken over by Sir William, Oscar Wilde’s father, Franz Polansky’s assessment of the bone conduction, or the well-known air shower of the middle ear according to Politzer. With the development of the cochlear implants in the 1960s, Ingeborg and Erwin Hochmair set a further milestone in modern ENT. Today around one million people benefit from this invention worldwide .

The Viennese School of Medicine not only looks back on a long history and tradition, but also the current health care and medical research landscape of Vienna can be seen and celebrated. The Vienna Open Medical Institute (Vienna OMI), the Josephinum and the Vienna Science and Technology Fund have taken this as an opportunity and launched the annual gala to promote the Vienna School of Medicine. The gala event will benefit the Josephinum, the Vienna OMI and the Medical University of Vienna.

Save the Date as PDF for download (469KB): Gala zur Förderung der Wiener Schule der Medizin – Save the Date